Monday, December 07, 2015 11:00 AM


The winners of November’s municipal elections will take office in December. Some local towns had more notable elections than others, but all experienced some changes.

Every local town has at least one new face on its governing board. Apex is the only town with a new mayor – Lance Olive.

Olive replaces Bill Sutton, who was appointed to the mayor’s seat and decided not to run for a second term.

Here’s a look at when the new boards will be sworn in.


When: Tuesday, Dec. 8, 6:30 p.m.

Where: Town Hall council chambers, 316 N. Academy St., Cary

Who: Cary Mayor Harold Weinbrecht and three council members will be sworn in. Weinbrecht is entering his third term.

Incumbents Don Frantz, who won his District B seat, and Lori Bush, an at-large member, rejoin the board. Frantz is entering his third term while Bush will start a second term.

The one new member will be Ken George, founder and president of NetSmart Inc., who will fill the District D seat that has been vacant for nearly a year. He defeated three other candidates and encountered a runoff. On Oct. 6, George faced Cary residents Maria Cervania, Nancy Caggia and Gray Rinehart. George was the top vote-getter, but didn’t have ...

News source:

See also: Wake Opthalmology